February 23 to March 10, 2021 ribbon Canada Winter Games 2007
Yukon Government

Yukon government sponsorship

From the moment Whitehorse was awarded the 2007 Canada Winter Games, the Yukon government has recognized this event will bring tremendous economic, social and cultural benefits to the North. We are fully supporting the games, doing our part to ensure both a successful event and an enduring legacy for the Yukon.

Financial and ‘in-kind’ resources

The Yukon government has provided financial support to the Canada Winter Games’ operational and capital budgets in the form of various direct contributions and grants. Initiatives such as Canada Games/Tourism workshop and the ‘Best Ever Athlete Development Program’ have enhanced government’s role in preparing the community for the largest event to ever take place North of 60.

We are also working with the governments of our sister territories on a Pan-Northern Marketing Campaign to ensure the 2007 Canada Winter Games showcase the cultural uniqueness of the North.

Infrastructure resources

The two most significant infrastructure projects in Whitehorse, among the many the Yukon government supports for the Canada Winter Games, are the Canada Games Centre, towards which it provided $19 million, and the Athletes Village residences, for which it will contribute $25.2 million.

Providing Yukoners with the infrastructure to cultivate healthy lifestyles through the Canada Games Centre moves us closer to our goal of building healthy Yukon communities.

Through the construction of the athletes’ village, the Yukon government is committed to ensuring athletes have a safe, comfortable place to stay during the games while leaving a legacy facility at Yukon College to serve the citizens of the Yukon.

Human resources

Under the recently developed volunteer policy for the games, Yukon government employees will be able to request paid leave for a wider variety of tasks, for example work on planning committees. The time frame has also been expanded to include some work in the two years leading up to the games.

Employees will be able to use government facilities including meeting rooms, computers, and office equipment to support their work on the games. The government is also providing four full-time employees to work for the host society, and has assigned Games-related duties to numerous other employees.

The Yukon government sees the 2007 Canada Winter Games as a great opportunity to demonstrate the emergence of the North as a place of increasing importance and relevance to Canadians as an economic engine, a place of opportunity and an important part of the Canadian identity.

For more information on the Yukon government, please visit www.gov.yk.ca.

23 Février au 10 Mars 2007 ribbon Canada Winter Games 2007
Le gouvernement du Yukon

Le gouvernement du Yukon commanditaire des Jeux

Lorsque Whitehorse s’est mérité la tenue des Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2007, le gouvernement du Yukon a admis que cet événement aurait des retombées économiques, sociales et culturelles importantes pour le Nord du Canada et a offert son soutien complet aux Jeux. Le gouvernement fera en sorte que cet événement soit un véritable succès et que l’héritage qu’il laissera au Yukon soit grand.

Ressources financières et en nature

Le gouvernement du Yukon a offert un soutien financier aux Jeux d’hiver du Canada sous forme de différentes contributions directes et de subventions. Des initiatives telles que les ateliers sur les Jeux du Canada et le tourisme ainsi que le Programme des champions ont permis au gouvernement de jouer un rôle important pour la préparation de la communauté en vue du plus grand événement à avoir eu lieu au nord du 60e parallèle.

Un partenariat avec les gouvernements des deux autres territoires a été établi pour la campagne de marketing pan-nordique afin que le caractère culturel unique du Nord canadien soit mis en valeur par le biais des Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2007.

Infrastructure

Le gourvernement du Yukon finance plusieurs projets d’infrastructure de grande importance pour les Jeux. Parmi ceux-ci, Whitehorse en compte deux, le Centre des Jeux du Canada, pour lequel le gouvernement a déboursé 19 millions de dollars, et les résidences du village des athlètes, qui coûteront 25,2 millions de dollars au gouvernement.

La construction du Centre des Jeux du Canada offre aux Yukonnais et Yukonnaises la possibilité d’avoir un style de vie plus sain, ce qui nous rapproche de notre objectif d’une communauté en santé.

La construction du village des athlètes va, quant à lui, permettre au gouvernement du Yukon de s’assurer que les athlètes auront un endroit sécuritaire et confortable où rester pendant les Jeux. Les bâtiments serviront par la suite au collège du Yukon ainsi qu’aux citoyens.

Ressources humaines

Selon la nouvelle politique concernant les bénévoles des Jeux, les employés du gouvernement du Yukon seront en mesure de réclamer des congés payés afin d’effectuer différentes tâches en lien avec les Jeux, comme la participation aux comités de plannification. Cette politique s’appliquera jusqu'à deux ans après la fin des Jeux.

Le gouvernement permet aux employés d’utiliser ses salles de conférence, ses ordinateurs et son matériel de bureau pour leur travail pour les Jeux. De plus, le gouvernement fournit quatre salariés à plein temps à la Société hôtesse et a assigné à plusieurs de ses employés des tâches pour les Jeux.

Selon le gouvernement du Yukon, les Jeux d’hiver du Canada 2007 sont une belle occasion de démontrer que le Nord est désormais un rouage important du moteur économique canadien, qu’il offre plusieurs possibilités et qu’il contribue à faire de l’identité canadienne ce qu’elle est.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le gouvernement du Yukon, veuillez visiter notre site internet au www.gov.yk.ca.